23.9 C
Texas

Gmail has a new feature against phishing

Security breaches are the order of the day: Therefore, a good practice for Internet users is to change their passwords frequently. In addition, they should be strong and difficult to guess. It is also advisable to keep an eye out for phishing messages from different platforms trying to get us to provide the information. To try to keep these threats at bay, Google has started to promote this free security feature that you can activate now in your Gmail account.

Google has a feature in Chrome called Enhanced Safe Browsing. This is used to predict threats before they take place. Therefore, it allows users to be warned when their credentials are exposed. This feature was already present in Chrome. However, Google has now implemented and started to promote it in Gmail. So, it is likely that in the last few days you have received a warning when logging into your Gmail account. It does not matter if it is from the browser or from the app on your mobile or tablet. If you activated it when it appeared, congratulations. If you acted out of inertia and tapped on the No thanks, no problem. Actually, what it does is to speed up the process to activate the protection against potentially dangerous websites, downloads, and extensions.

How to activate the protection against phishing in your Gmail email

If you want to add an extra layer of security against phishing and other types of fraud attempts, we tell you how to do it step by step. The procedure is simple. Moreover, it takes less than a minute to activate, and you only need to perform a couple of actions.

  • It is possible to activate it directly. To do so, click on the following link. This will take you to the Enhanced Safe Browsing for your account page and activate it.
  • If your browser is Google Chrome, then copy into the address bar this command: chrome://settings/security. When you are inside, select Enhanced Protection versus Standard Protection.
  • If you are on mobile, open the Chrome app and tap on the three dots. Then go to Settings >Privacy and security. Next, go to Safe browsing, where all the available security options will be displayed, such as standard and unprotected protection, as well as Enhanced protection, which is the one we are interested in activating.

Note that this is an account setting and not a device setting. Therefore, bear in mind that regardless of where you activate it, it will be operational on the others. If you use Gmail or Chrome, it is an extra measure of protection that you should take advantage of. You should join it with others, such as two-factor authentication. Also consider that this setting also provides detailed information about your browsing habits, linked to your account. However, Google explains that this data becomes anonymous after a period of time.

- Advertisement -
Everything Linux, A.I, IT News, DataOps, Open Source and more delivered right to you.
Subscribe
"The best Linux newsletter on the web"

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Latest article